I am the first person in my Gujarati immigrant family to be born in the United States of America. My parents had a traditional arranged marriage in Gujarat, India.

I graduated from Moloka'i High & Intermediate School, then obtained my bachelor's degree in history at Stanford University. I earned a medical degree from the University of Hawai'i John A. Burns School of Medicine, and then completed five years of residency training in child, adolescent, and adult psychiatry at Stanford University and the University of Hawai'i. Immediately after residency, I worked as a psychiatrist on both Oahu and Moloka'i.

Currently, I practice psychiatry on Oahu. I am especially passionate about helping teens work through emotional issues, gender issues, sexuality issues, abuse of all types, and/or family conflicts, to improve their self worth, relationships, and moods. I also do family therapy to help resolve complicated family systems issues. In addition, I've led various teen groups- process therapy groups aimed at building interpersonal and assertiveness skills for depressed, anxious, and eating disordered teens, book discussion groups with incarcerated girls from all the Hawaiian islands, and safe sex psychoeducation groups with psychiatrically hospitalized teens.  

When I'm not in the office, you can find me trekking in some lush mountain or valley. Or making hot fudge (or any other sweet treat with the magic five ingredients of semi-sweet chocolate, butter, heavy cream, sugar, and vanilla). Or listening to hip hop. Or writing rhymes. Or practicing the latest hip hop dance moves (much to the chagrin of my children). Or discovering new TV shows to binge watch (my favorites include: Peaky Blinders, The Wire, Game of Thrones, and The Hour). And then there's foreign travel, which I do for two reasons: culinary pleasure and finding underground hip hop clubs. So far, the best of both are in Seoul, Tokyo, and London.

I live on Oahu with my spouse, two children, and dog.